Who will be named Premier League Player of the Year?

With this Premier League campaign well under way, speculation on who’ll be crowned this season’s champions, who’ll finish in the top four and who will be relegated is rife, but before all of that, we’ll find out who is this season’s PFA Premier League Player of the Year.

There are two prestigious Player of the Year awards at the end of every season of course, with the Football Writers award also an acclaimed honour, but it is the PFA Player’s vote that tends to be seen as the decisive verdict on who was the season’s best as it is voted for by fellow professionals.

So who do we think could be  candidates? And who will win the prize?

Sadio Mane

Mane has been Liverpool’s most potent attacking threat as they battle Manchester City for the title this season.

The Senegalese striker’s contributions in front of goal have often come at crucial moments and in crucial games when teammate Mo Salah has been suffering a relative goal-drought this term and it is a testament to Mane’s form that he is rumoured to be a transfer target for Real Madrid.

Tammy Araham

Chelsea have no doubt surprised a few people and find themselves battling it out for a  top-four finish, and the individual performances of club talisman Tammy Abraham cannot be ignored, and the Englishment has fitted right into the Premier League after spending last season with Aston Villa in the Championship.

Sergio Aguero

Manchester City Argentine striker should definitely  break the 20-goal barrier season and it will be the sixth consecutive year he has done so, though despite also four Premier League titles with City he has yet to win the PFA Player’s Award.

Virgil Van Dijk

If the PFA Player of the Year was awarded to the player who has made the most significant individual impact to his team, then it would have to be Virgil Van Dijk’s. Last year’s winner  has transformed Liverpool’s back line as The Reds have gone from conceding regular defensive howlers to having the best defensive record in the league.

Van Dijk is currently the bookmakers’ favourite to win the award, priced at 2/5 with both US and Canada sports betting sites.

Raheem Sterling

And while Van Dijk may be favourite, the man who many see as Manchester City’s best player  is a close second, with Raheem Sterling as short as 15/8, though available at a best-priced 11/4 Canada and US sports betting sites.

Sterling has been an inspirational figure both on and off the pitch for his stance against football’s issues with racism and this may well help  edge him closer to be crowned winner.

Who will be named Premier League Player of the Year?

Comments 0 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.