Manchester City football club (Blues)

Founded: 1894
Manager: Pep Guardiola
Address: Etihad Stadium
Rowsley Street
M11 3FF

Founded in 1880 as St Mark`s Church, the club was known as Garton and then Ardwick before adopting the name of Manchester City in 1894.

They were founders of the Second Division of the Football League in 1892 and, except for one season (1998-99), have remained in the top two divisions.

City enjoyed a notable period of success under Joe Mercer during the late 1960 and early 1970s when they won the League Championship, FA Cup, League Cup and European Cup Winners' Cup.

In 2003, the club moved from Maine Road to the City of Manchester Stadium which was constructed for the 2002 Commonwealth Games.

The club`s fortunes, finances and standing in the game changed beyond all recognition in August 2008 following the takeover by Abu Dhabi United Group, headed by Sheikh Mansour.

City immediately benefitted from the huge financial investment. Directly following the takeover, the Citizens broke the British transfer record with the 32.5 pound million signing of Brazilian Robinho.

Under manager Roberto Mancini, the Citizens sealed their first Premier League title just four years after the takeover, as they pipped neighbours Manchester United to become English league champions for the third time in their history.

A second Premier League title followed in 2014 as the silverware continued to head towards the Etihad.

City have now won the FA Cup five times in addition to four League Cups.

Home ground history:

Clowes Street - 1880

Kirkmanshulme Cricket Ground - 1881

Queens Road - 1882

Pink Bank Lane - 1884

Hyde Road - 1887

Maine Road - 1923

City of Manchester Stadium - 2003


Etihad Stadium - 2011

Manchester City all-time totals

Games won: 2549
Games drawn: 1277
Games lost: 1859
Goals for: 9756
Goals against: 7730
Average goals for: 1.71
Average goals against: 1.36

Venue: Etihad Stadium