Leicester City football club (The Foxes)

Founded: 1884
Manager: Enzo Maresca
Address: King Power Stadium
Filbert Way
Website: www.lcfc.co.uk

Leicester Fosse FC was founded by a group of former public school pupils and members of a bible class in 1884.

The Foxes were elected to the Football League in 1894 and changed their name to Leicester City in 1919.

Only Barnsley have played more games than Leicester in the second grade of English league football.

City had won a total of seven titles in the second tier; six in League Division Two and one League Championship.

Amid a notable cup tradition, the Foxes hold the record of reaching the most FA Cup Finals without going on to lift the trophy (four).

They have won the League Cup three times, most recently under manager Martin O?Neill in 2000.

Leicester City have spent only one outside of the top two divisions and that 2008-09 season in League One proved to be the catalyst to a truly astounding transformation.

Chiefly inspired by boss Nigel Pearson and the ownership Thai billionaire Vichai Srivaddhanaprabha, City returned to the Premier League in 2014 and performed an heroic last gasp escape from relegation in their first season.

However that was nothing compared to 2015-16, with the introduction of Italian manager Claudio Ranieri, the Foxes wrote one of the most remarkable chapters in British sporting history.

Starting the campaign as 5,000/1 outsiders, armed with the goals of Jamie Vardy and craft of Riyad Mahrez, City became the first club to become champions of England for the first time since Nottingham Forest in 1978.

Home ground history:

Victoria Park - 1884

Belgrave Road - 1887

Victoria Park - 1888

Filbert Street - 1891

Walkers Stadium - 2002


King Power Stadium - 2011

Leicester City all-time totals

Games won: 2163
Games drawn: 1368
Games lost: 2028
Goals for: 8489
Goals against: 8195
Average goals for: 1.53
Average goals against: 1.47

Venue: King Power Stadium