Watford football club (The Hornets)

Founded: 1898
Address: Vicarage Road Stadium
Website: www.watfordfc.com

Founded in 1881 and becoming original member of the Third Division in 1920, Watford had spent only a brief period above the bottom two tiers until Sir Elton John became chairman in 1976.

The singing superstar and lifelong Hornets supporter appointed a relatively unknown Graham Taylor as manager and the club was soon on a remarkable path of success.

After the Division Four title was secured in 1978, Watford`s direct style launched them directly to the First Division for the first time in 1982.

Under Taylor`s guidance, they finished as Football League runners-up in 1983 and FA Cup finalists in 1984.

The Hertfordshire club have remained in the top two divisions ever since, and reached the Premier League for the first time in 1999.

Due to the collapse of the ITV Digital broadcast deal, the club was only saved from going into administration in 2002 due to the playing staff agreeing to a pay deferral.

Following another one-season Premier League stint in 2006-07, the Hornets suffered another period of financial turmoil before a takeover was agreed the Pozzo family in 2012.

The Italians are also owners of Udinese and Granada.

Despite regular changes to the managerial and playing staffs, Watford returned to the Premier League for a third spell in 2015.

Home ground history:

Vicarage Meadow - 1883

Rose & Crown Meadow - 1883

Colney Butts - 1889

Cassio Road - 1890

Vicarage Road - 1922

Watford all-time totals

Games won: 1819
Games drawn: 1230
Games lost: 1822
Goals for: 6889
Goals against: 6833
Average goals for: 1.41
Average goals against: 1.40

Venue: Vicarage Road