Sunderland football club (Black Cats)

Founded: 1880
Address: The Stadium of Light
Stadium Park

Sunderland AFC was founded in 1879 and were a dominant force during the early period of the professional game.

The Wearside club have been champions of England on six occasions will all six First Division titles claimed before the Second World War.

They have also won the FA Cup twice, most recently in 1973 in Bob Stokoe`s Second Division Rokerites beat Leeds United in the Wembley Final.

Sunderland contest the historic Tyne-Wear derby with Newcastle United.

In 1997, Sunderland moved into the Stadium of Light which was built on the site of the former Wearmouth colliery.

Sir Bob Murray, the club`s chairman at the time of its construction, said the name was chosen for two main reasons; as a permanent tribute to the region?s mineworkers and industrial heritage, and in the hope that the stadium would be a guiding light in to the future.

With a capacity of almost 49,000, it is the sixth biggest English club ground.

Home ground history:

Blue House Field, Hendon - 1879

Groves Field, Ashbrooke - 1882

Horatio Street - 1883

Abbs Field, Fulwell - 1884

Newcastle Road - 1886

Roker Park - 1898

Stadium of Light - 1997

Sunderland all-time totals

Games won: 2242
Games drawn: 1359
Games lost: 1987
Goals for: 8577
Goals against: 7848
Average goals for: 1.53
Average goals against: 1.40

Venue: Stadium of Light