Southampton football club (The Saints)

Founded: 1885
Manager: Russell Martin
Address: St Mary's Stadium
Britannia Road
SO14 5FP

Founded in 1885 by member of St Mary`s Church under the name St Mary`s Young Men?s Association FC, the club changed its name to Southampton in 1896.

Original members of the Third Division in 1920, long-serving manger Ted Bates led them to the top division for the first time in 1966.

Lawrie McMememy was in charge in 1976 when the Saints clinched their most significant major honour. They won the FA Cup final against Manchester United with a goal scored by the late Bobby Stokes.

The genial Geordie was still at the helm when the Hampshire outfit achieved their best top tier finish of second in 1984.

Starting in 1978, Southampton enjoyed a run of 27 straight seasons in the top division. They were founding members of the Premier League in 1992.

The Saints` record all-time goalscorer is latter day race horse trainer Mick Channon while Guernsey-born Matt Le Tissier, who spent his entire career at the club, was widely regarded as one of the best technical England players of his generation.

Amid severe financial problems, Southampton returned to the third tier in 2009 for the first time since 1960.

Under the ownership of the Swiss-based Liebherr family, the Saints returned to the Premier League in 2012 as they amazingly re-discovered their former glories and stature.

Home ground history:

The Common - 1885

Antelope Cricket Ground - 1889

County Cricket Ground - 1896

The Dell - 1898

St Mary`s Stadium - 2001


Friends Provident St Mary`s Stadium - 2001 to 2006

Southampton all-time totals

Games won: 2181
Games drawn: 1358
Games lost: 1933
Goals for: 8414
Goals against: 7678
Average goals for: 1.54
Average goals against: 1.40

Venue: St Mary's Stadium