Crystal Palace football club (The Eagles)

Founded: 1905
Manager: Oliver Glasner
Address: Selhurst Park
Whitehorse Lane
SE25 6PU

South London based Crystal Palace were formed in 1905.

Then nicknamed the Glaziers, they spent their formative years in the Southern League before becoming original members of the Football League`s Third Division in 1920.

Palace appeared in the English top flight for the first time in 1969, experiencing numerous promotions and relegations over the next two decades.

In 1973, the club changed its original nickname to the Eagles and introduced the now familiar red and blue striped shirts.

In 1990, manager Steve Coppell led the team to the FA Cup final where, after a replay, they were defeated by Manchester United.

In more recent years, the club suffered from financial difficulties and entered administration on two separate occasions, firstly in 1998 and then again in 2010.

The club sealed a long awaited return to the Premier League in 2013 when they won the Championship play-off final at Wembley against Watford.

Another Wembley success against Watford in 2016 led to a re-run of the 1990 FA Cup Final against Manchester United.

On this occasion, they were led by manager Alan Pardew who had scored their semi-final winner 26 years earlier.

Home ground history:

Crystal Palace - 1905

Herne Hill - 1915

The Nest - 1918

Selhurst Park - 1924

Crystal Palace all-time totals

Games won: 1749
Games drawn: 1251
Games lost: 1761
Goals for: 6558
Goals against: 6576
Average goals for: 1.38
Average goals against: 1.38

Venue: Selhurst Park