League Cup, 2017 (EFL Cup)

2016-17 is the 57th season of the Football League Cup competition.

Due to a re-branding of the Football League to the English Football League (EFL) in the summer of the 2016, the trophy was renamed the EFL Cup.

Capital One chose not to extend their sponsorship after four years.

All 92 members of the Premier League and English Football League competed.

22 clubs from the League Championship, 24 from League One and 24 for League Two (70 in total) entered at the first round stage.

The remaining two clubs from the League Championship (Newcastle United and Norwich City; the two highest ranked clubs who were relegated from the previous season's Premier League) entered at the second round stage along with the 13 Premier League clubs who were not involved in European competitions.

Therefore, a total of 50 clubs compete in the second round.

The remaining seven Premier League clubs (Leicester City, Arsenal, Tottenham Hotspur, Manchester City, Manchester United, Southampton and West Ham United) entered at the third round stage (32 clubs in total).

Other than the two-legged semi-finals, each tie is played as a single game.

In the event of the scores being level at the end of 90 minutes in the first, second, third, fourth and fifth rounds and the final, 30 minutes extra time would be played.

If those ties remain undecided after extra time, the tie would go to a penalty shoot-out.

In the semi-finals, if the aggregate score is level at the end of the second leg, 30 minutes extra time would be played. If still level at the end of extra time, the away goals rule applies. If the tie still remains level on away goals, it would then go to a penalty shoot-out.

Subject to their final position in the Premier League, the winners would be due to qualify for the third qualifying round of the UEFA Europa League in 2017-18.