League Cup


Year Winner Runner-up
1961 Aston Villa Rotherham United
1962 Norwich City Rochdale
1963 Birmingham City Aston Villa
1964 Leicester City Stoke City
1965 Chelsea Leicester City
1966 West Bromwich Albion West Ham United
1967 Queens Park Rangers West Bromwich Albion
1968 Leeds United Arsenal
1969 Swindon Town Arsenal
1970 Manchester City West Bromwich Albion
1971 Tottenham Hotspur Aston Villa
1972 Stoke City Chelsea
1973 Tottenham Hotspur Norwich City
1974 Wolverhampton Wanderers Manchester City
1975 Aston Villa Norwich City
1976 Manchester City Newcastle United
1977 Aston Villa Everton
1978 Nottingham Forest Liverpool
1979 Nottingham Forest Southampton
1980 Wolverhampton Wanderers Nottingham Forest
1981 Liverpool West Ham United
1982 (Milk Cup) Liverpool Tottenham Hotspur
1983 (Milk Cup) Liverpool Manchester United
1984 (Milk Cup) Liverpool Everton
1985 (Milk Cup) Norwich City Sunderland
1986 (Milk Cup) Oxford United Queens Park Rangers
1987 (Littlewoods Cup) Arsenal Liverpool
1988 (Littlewoods Cup) Luton Town Arsenal
1989 (Littlewoods Cup) Nottingham Forest Luton Town
1990 (Littlewoods Cup) Nottingham Forest Oldham Athletic
1991 (Rumbelows League Cup) Sheffield Wednesday Manchester United
1992 (Rumbelows League Cup) Manchester United Nottingham Forest
1993 (Coca-Cola League Cup) Arsenal Sheffield Wednesday
1994 (Coca-Cola League Cup) Aston Villa Manchester United
1995 (Coca-Cola League Cup) Liverpool Bolton Wanderers
1996 (Coca-Cola League Cup) Aston Villa Leeds United
1997 (Coca-Cola League Cup) Leicester City Middlesbrough
1998 (Coca-Cola League Cup) Chelsea Middlesbrough
1999 (Worthington Cup) Tottenham Hotspur Leicester City
2000 (Worthington Cup) Leicester City Tranmere Rovers
2001 (Worthington Cup) Liverpool Birmingham City
2002 (Worthington Cup) Blackburn Rovers Tottenham Hotspur
2003 (Worthington Cup) Liverpool Manchester United
2004 (Carling Cup) Middlesbrough Bolton Wanderers
2005 (Carling Cup) Chelsea Liverpool
2006 (Carling Cup) Manchester United Wigan Athletic
2007 (Carling Cup) Chelsea Arsenal
2008 (Carling Cup) Tottenham Hotspur Chelsea
2009 (Carling Cup) Manchester United Tottenham Hotspur
2010 (Carling Cup) Manchester United Aston Villa
2011 (Carling Cup) Birmingham City Arsenal
2012 (Carling Cup) Liverpool Cardiff City
2013 (Capital One Cup) Swansea City Bradford City
2014 (Capital One Cup) Manchester City Sunderland
2015 (Capital One Cup) Chelsea Tottenham Hotspur
2016 (Capital One Cup) Manchester City Liverpool
2017 (EFL Cup) Manchester United Southampton
2018 (Carabao Cup) Manchester City Arsenal
2019 (Carabao Cup) Manchester City Chelsea
2020 (Carabao Cup) Manchester City Aston Villa
2021 (Carabao Cup) Manchester City Tottenham Hotspur
2022 (Carabao Cup) Liverpool Chelsea
2023 (Carabao Cup) Manchester United Newcastle United



The League Cup began its life to general indifference after Alan Hardaker, the Football League's authoritarian secretary, introduced the competition in 1960 as part of the project he called the 'Pattern For Football' at a time when attendances and interest in the game was dwindling.

The problem was that the clubs, anticipating extra income, wanted the competition but not the rest of Hardaker's project which included an increase to 100 clubs in five 20-team divisions and a four up / four down promotion and relegation system.

Entry was not compulsory and a number of leading clubs chose not to take part during the first 11 seasons of the competition's existence.

The trophy

The original League Cup trophy was commissioned and paid for by the Football League's president Joe Richards.

It was designed and produced by Mappin & Webb, one of the UK’s leading retailers of fine jewellery and silverware.

The unusual three-handled trophy is a feature based on an old design from a loving cup.

This trophy as awarded to the winners until 1981–82 and since 1990–91.

Alternative trophies were awarded from 1982-83 to 1985-86 and from 1986-87 to 1989-90 in line with the wishes of the sponsors.