Premier League, 2016 (2015-16)

Premier League - Season Review 2015-16

If the Premier League lasts 1000 years, 2015-16 will go down in history as one of the most remarkable seasons ever - with 5000-1 outsiders Leicester City winning the title using a strategy based on sound defence, teamwork and surrendering possession in order to hit the opposition with lightening fast counter-attacks.

The 2015-16 Barclays Premier League was the 24th season in the competition's history.but will be remembered as the season when the domination of the recognised big clubs was thrown out its accepted order when 5,000/1 outsiders Leicester City became the first club to become England's champions for the first time since Nottingham Forest in 1978.

Having narrowly avoided relegation in 2014-15, Nigel Pearson was replaced by veteran manager Claudio Ranieri in the summer. Despite minimal changes to the playing squad, the Foxes were a revelation with Jamie Vardy - playing non-league football as recently as 2012 - their leading scorer with 24 goals. England colleague Harry Kane pipped him to the Golden Boot award but that was of little consolation to Tottenham Hotspur.Having harboured hopes of their first champions crown since 1961, Spurs were eventually denied runners-up spot by North London rivals Arsenal.

Although performing below par in Manuel Pellegrini's final season, Manchester City held on to fourth place and Champions League qualification.

Reigning champions Chelsea suffered a terrible season. Manager Jose Mourinho was sacked in December, with the team in 16th position, as the subsequently failed to qualify for European football for the first time since 1996-97.
With Manchester United winning the FA Cup under Louis Van Gaal, Southampton and West Ham United (in the final season at Upton Park) also gained qualification for the UEFA Europa League because of their league position.
Better than expected performances from such as Watford and Premier League debutants AFC Bournemouth led to the relegations of Newcastle United, Norwich City and Aston Villa.

Villa's first relegation since 1987 left only six clubs as ever-present members of the Premier League.
Claudio Ranieri was named Premier League Manager of the Year.
Jamie Vardy won the Premier League Player of the Season award as well as the Football Writers' Association Footballer of the Year title.
His previously virtually unknown Leicester City teammate Riyad Mahrez was named PFA Players' Player of the Year.
Tottenham Hotspur's Harry Kane was the Golden Boot winner with 25 goals.

The PFA Premier League Team of the Year was:

  • David De Gea (Manchester United)
  • Hector Bellerin (Arsenal), Wes Morgan (Leicester City), Toby Alderweireld (Tottenham Hotspur), Danny Rose (Tottenham Hotspur)
  • Riyad Mahrez (Leicester City), Dele Alli (Tottenham Hotspur), N'Golo Kante (Leicester City), Dimitri Payet (West Ham United)
  • Jamie Vardy (Leicester City), Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur)

The average attendance was 36,415.
The highest attendance was 75,451 for Swansea City's visit to Manchester United on 2 January 2016 while the lowest attendance was the 10,863 who saw the game between AFC Bournemouth and Stoke City on 13 February 2016.