Premier League, 2014 (2013-14)

The 2013-14 Barclays Premier League was the 22nd season in the competition's history.

Liverpool had looked on course to win their first Premier League title but a draw and defeat in their last three games allowed Manchester City to become second-time champions on the final day of the season.

The other two UEFA Champions League places went to Chelsea and Arsenal by finishing in the top four.

With Arsenal winning the FA Cup, finalists Hull City qualified for the UEFA Europa League and European football for the first time in their history.

Everton and Tottenham Hotspur qualified for the Europa League through their league position.

Cardiff City's debut season in the division ended in relegation along with Norwich City and Fulham.

Tony Pulis revived Crystal Palace's campaign to such an extent that he was rewarded with the Premier League Manager of the Year award.

Luis Suarez became the second Liverpool player to win the Premier League Player of the Season award after Michael Owen in 1997-98. The Uruguayan striker was also the sixth Red to win the PFA equivalent.

He completed the hat-trick by being named the 12th Liverpool player to win the Football Writers' Footballer of the Year award.

He was also the Golden Boot winner with 31 goals; the most since Cristiano Ronaldo in 2007-08.

The PFA Premier League Team of the Year was:

  • Petr Cech (Chelsea)
  • Seamus Coleman (Everton), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Vincent Kompany (Manchester City), Luke Shaw (Southampton)
  • Steven Gerrard (Liverpool), Eden Hazard (Chelsea), Yaya Toure (Manchester City), Adam Lallana (Southampton)
  • Luis Suarez (Liverpool), Daniel Sturridge (Liverpool)

The average attendance was 36,657.

The highest attendance was 75,368 for Aston Villa's visit to Manchester United on 29 March 2014 while the lowest attendance was the 19,242 who saw the game between Swansea City and Stoke City on 10 November 2013.