Premier League, 2012 (2011-12)

Premier League – Season Review 2011-12

The 2011-12 Barclays Premier League was the 20th season in the competition’s history.

Manchester City won their first Premier League title to become the champions of English football for the first time since 1968. City became the fifth different club to clinch the Premier League crown and did so in the most dramatic fashion with added time goals from Edin Dzeko and Sergio Aguero securing a sensational last day of the season win against Queens Park Rangers at the Etihad Stadium.

Two of the other UEFA Champions League places went to Manchester United and Arsenal by finishing second and third, respectively. The fourth Champions League slot was secured by Chelsea by winning this season’s Champions League. They also lifted the FA Cup.

Tottenham Hotspur and Newcastle United qualified for the Europa League through their league position while Liverpool qualified by winning the Carling Cup.

Swansea City became the first non-English club to play in the Premier League and, along with QPR and Norwich City, all three promoted clubs avoided relegation for the first time since 2001-02.

It was Wolverhampton Wanderers, Bolton Wanderers and 1995 champions Blackburn Rovers who returned to the Football League. Marc Albrighton of Aston Villa was officially credited with the Premier League’s 20,000th goal in their 2-1 at Arsenal on 21 December.

Alan Pardew became the first Newcastle United boss to be rewarded with the Premier League Manager of the Year award.

Manchester City captain Vincent Kompany also lifted the Premier League Player of the Season award. Arsenal’s Robin

Van Persie completed a hat-trick by being named PFA Players’ Player of the Year, Football Writers’ Footballer of the Year award and the Golden Boot winner with 30 goals.

The PFA Premier League Team of the Year was:

  • Joe Hart (Manchester City)
  • Kyle Walker (Tottenham Hotspur), Fabricio Coloccini (Newcastle United), Vincent Kompany (Manchester City), Leighton Baines (Everton)
  • David Silva (Manchester City), Scott Parker (Tottenham Hotspur), Yaya Toure (Manchester City), Gareth Bale (Tottenham Hotspur)
  • Robin Van Persie (Arsenal), Wayne Rooney (Manchester United)

The average attendance was 34,601.

The highest attendance was 75,627 for Wolverhampton Wanderers’ visit to Manchester United on 10 December 2011 while the lowest attendance was the 15,195 who saw the game between Queens Park Rangers and Bolton Wanderers on 13 August 2011.