Premier League, 2002 (2001-02)

Premier League – Season Review 2001-02

The 2001-02 FA Barclaycard Premiership was the tenth season in the competition’s history. Arsenal won their second Premier League title in completing a league and FA Cup double for a record third time. The Gunners scored in each of their 38 Premiership games and remained unbeaten away from home. Arsene Wenger’s class of 2001-02 won a four-team race for the title with a superb win at third-placed Manchester United on 8 May.

Liverpool and Newcastle United qualified for the Champions League by their league position. The UEFA Cup qualifiers were Leeds United (league position), Chelsea (losing FA Cup Finalists) and Blackburn Rovers (Worthington Cup winners). Ipswich Town were also awarded a UEFA Cup place via the Fair Play League but completed a rare double of qualifying for European competition in a relegation season. Aston Villa and Fulham also decided to enter the UEFA Intertoto Cup.

Sunderland had to wait until the last day of the campaign to confirm their survival so it was Derby County and Leicester City who returned to the First Division with Ipswich.

Arsene Wenger was named Barclaycard Manager of the Season. Ruud van Nistelrooy of Manchester United won the PFA Players' Player of the Year award. Arsenal’s Robert Pires won the Football Writers' Association Footballer of the Year award. Thierry Henry of Arsenal claimed the Golden Boot with 24 goals.

The PFA Premier League Team of the Year was:

  • Shay Given (Newcastle United)
  • Steve Finnan (Fulham), Rio Ferdinand (Leeds United), Sami Hyypia (Liverpool), Wayne Bridge (Southampton)
  • Robert Pires (Arsenal), Patrick Vieira (Arsenal), Roy Keane (Manchester United), Ryan Giggs (Manchester United)
  • Thierry Henry (Arsenal), Ruud van Nistelrooy (Manchester United)

The average attendance was 34,249. The highest attendance was 67,638 for Middlesbrough’s visit to Manchester United on 23 March 2002. The lowest attendance of the season was the 15,412 who witnessed the game between Leicester City and Middlesbrough on 17 September 2001.