Premier League, 2000 (1999-2000)

Premier League – Season Review 1999-2000

The 1999-2000 FA Carling Premiership was the eighth season in the competition’s history. The new millennium brought the same old story as Manchester United clinched their sixth Premier League title. United’s domination grew even greater as they lost only three games, guaranteed the title with five games still to play and finished 18 points clear of the rest. This was all despite an enforced winter break of having to play in the inaugural FIFA Club World Championship in Brazil.

Arsenal were the runners-up for a second year in a row while Leeds United claimed the third Champions League spot. The UEFA Cup qualifiers were Liverpool (league position), Chelsea (FA Cup winners) and Leicester City (Worthington Cup winners). Aston Villa and Bradford City also decided to enter the UEFA Intertoto Cup.

Bradford survived their first Premier League season with a dramatic final day win against Liverpool. That brought Wimbledon’s top-flight existence to an end as they were relegated along with Sheffield Wednesday and Watford.

Sir Alex Ferguson was named Carling Manager of the Season. Roy Keane of Manchester United won the PFA Players' Player of the Year award and the Football Writers' Association Footballer of the Year award. Sunderland’s Kevin Phillips claimed the Golden Boot with 30 goals and was named Carling Player of the Year.

The PFA Premier League Team of the Year was:

  • Nigel Martyn (Leeds United)
  • Gary Kelly (Leeds United), Jaap Stam (Manchester United), Sami Hyypia (Liverpool), Ian Harte (Leeds United)
  • David Beckham (Manchester United), Patrick Vieira (Arsenal), Roy Keane (Manchester United), Harry Kewell (Leeds United)
  • Kevin Phillips (Sunderland), Andrew Cole (Manchester United)

The average attendance was 30,755. The highest attendance was 61,619 for Derby County’s visit to Manchester United on 11 March 2000. The lowest attendance of the season was the 8,248 who witnessed the game between Wimbledon and Sheffield Wednesday on 12 April 2000 at Selhurst Park.