Premier League, 1993 (1992-93)

Premier League – Season Review 1992-93

The 1992-93 FA Premier League was the first season in the competition’s history.

It was a 22-team division and there was no title sponsorship after eight clubs blocked a £13million deal with brewers Bass.

Manchester United claimed the honour as inaugural champions, so ending their 26-year wait for an eighth league title.

The signing of Eric Cantona from Leeds United in November proved to be a masterstroke by manager Alex Ferguson while a dramatic win against Sheffield Wednesday in April, with two late goals from captain Steve Bruce, was pivotal in a strong finish of seven consecutive wins. United duly qualified for the only place in the Champions League.

Aston Villa and Norwich City went in to the UEFA Cup after finishing second and third, respectively. Arsenal qualified for the European Cup Winners’ Cup after beating Sheffield Wednesday in a replayed FA Cup Final.

Leeds United suffered a particularly disappointing season in defence of their league title, and their ageing squad finished only two points above the relegation zone.

Oldham Athletic produced the first Premier League great escape with a dramatic last day win against Southampton. It was Crystal Palace who dropped out instead of the Latics while Middlesbrough made an immediate return to the Football League.

Nottingham Forest finished as the new league’s first bottom club as manager Brian Clough’s 18-year tenure at the City Ground came to an inappropriate end.

Paul McGrath of Aston Villa was named the PFA Players' Player of the Year. Sheffield Wednesday’s Chris Waddle won the Football Writers' Association Footballer of the Year award. Teddy Sheringham won the Golden Boot with 22 goals for Nottingham Forest and Tottenham Hotspur.

The PFA Premier League Team of the Year was:

  • Peter Schmeichel (Manchester United)
  • David Bardsley (Queens Park Rangers), Gary Pallister (Manchester United), Paul McGrath (Aston Villa), Tony Dorigo (Leeds United)
  • Gary Speed (Leeds United), Paul Ince (Manchester United), Roy Keane (Nottingham Forest), Ryan Giggs (Manchester United)
  • Alan Shearer (Blackburn Rovers), Ian Wright (Arsenal)

The average attendance was 21,125. The highest attendance was 44,619 for Everton’s visit to Liverpool on 20 March 1993. The lowest attendance of the season was the 3,039 who witnessed the game between Wimbledon and Everton on 26 January 1993 at Selhurst Park.