FA Cup


Year Winner Runner-up
1872 Wanderers Royal Engineers
1873 Wanderers Oxford University
1874 Oxford University Royal Engineers
1875 Royal Engineers Old Etonians
1876 Wanderers Old Etonians
1877 Wanderers Oxford University
1878 Wanderers Royal Engineers
1879 Old Etonians Clapham Rovers
1880 Clapham Rovers Oxford University
1881 Old Carthusians Old Etonians
1882 Old Etonians Blackburn Rovers
1883 Blackburn Olympic Old Etonians
1884 Blackburn Rovers Queens Park
1885 Blackburn Rovers Queens Park
1886 Blackburn Rovers West Bromwich Albion
1887 Aston Villa West Bromwich Albion
1888 West Bromwich Albion Preston North End
1889 Preston North End Wolverhampton Wanderers
1890 Blackburn Rovers Sheffield Wednesday
1891 Blackburn Rovers Notts County
1892 West Bromwich Albion Aston Villa
1893 Wolverhampton Wanderers Everton
1894 Notts County Bolton Wanderers
1895 Aston Villa West Bromwich Albion
1896 Sheffield Wednesday Wolverhampton Wanderers
1897 Aston Villa Everton
1898 Nottingham Forest Derby County
1899 Sheffield United Derby County
1900 Bury Southampton
1901 Tottenham Hotspur Sheffield United
1902 Sheffield United Southampton
1903 Bury Derby County
1904 Manchester City Bolton Wanderers
1905 Aston Villa Newcastle United
1906 Everton Newcastle United
1907 Sheffield Wednesday Everton
1908 Wolverhampton Wanderers Newcastle United
1909 Manchester United Bristol City
1910 Newcastle United Barnsley
1911 Bradford City Newcastle United
1912 Barnsley West Bromwich Albion
1913 Aston Villa Sunderland
1914 Burnley Liverpool
1915 Sheffield United Chelsea
1920 Aston Villa Huddersfield Town
1921 Tottenham Hotspur Wolverhampton Wanderers
1922 Huddersfield Town Preston North End
1923 Bolton Wanderers West Ham United
1924 Newcastle United Aston Villa
1925 Sheffield United Cardiff City
1926 Bolton Wanderers Manchester City
1927 Cardiff City Arsenal
1928 Blackburn Rovers Huddersfield Town
1929 Bolton Wanderers Portsmouth
1930 Arsenal Huddersfield Town
1931 West Bromwich Albion Birmingham City
1932 Newcastle United Arsenal
1933 Everton Manchester City
1934 Manchester City Portsmouth
1935 Sheffield Wednesday West Bromwich Albion
1936 Arsenal Sheffield United
1937 Sunderland Preston North End
1938 Preston North End Huddersfield Town
1939 Portsmouth Wolverhampton Wanderers
1946 Derby County Charlton Athletic
1947 Charlton Athletic Burnley
1948 Manchester United Blackpool
1949 Wolverhampton Wanderers Leicester City
1950 Arsenal Liverpool
1951 Newcastle United Blackpool
1952 Newcastle United Arsenal
1953 Blackpool Bolton Wanderers
1954 West Bromwich Albion Preston North End
1955 Newcastle United Manchester City
1956 Manchester City Birmingham City
1957 Aston Villa Manchester United
1958 Bolton Wanderers Manchester United
1959 Nottingham Forest Luton Town
1960 Wolverhampton Wanderers Blackburn Rovers
1961 Tottenham Hotspur Leicester City
1962 Tottenham Hotspur Burnley
1963 Manchester United Leicester City
1964 West Ham United Preston North End
1965 Liverpool Leeds United
1966 Everton Sheffield Wednesday
1967 Tottenham Hotspur Chelsea
1968 West Bromwich Albion Everton
1969 Manchester City Leicester City
1970 Chelsea Leeds United
1971 Arsenal Liverpool
1972 Leeds United Arsenal
1973 Sunderland Leeds United
1974 Liverpool Newcastle United
1975 West Ham United Fulham
1976 Southampton Manchester United
1977 Manchester United Liverpool
1978 Ipswich Town Arsenal
1979 Arsenal Manchester United
1980 West Ham United Arsenal
1981 Tottenham Hotspur Manchester City
1982 Tottenham Hotspur Queens Park Rangers
1983 Manchester United Brighton and Hove Albion
1984 Everton Watford
1985 Manchester United Everton
1986 Liverpool Everton
1987 Coventry City Tottenham Hotspur
1988 Wimbledon Liverpool
1989 Liverpool Everton
1990 Manchester United Crystal Palace
1991 Tottenham Hotspur Nottingham Forest
1992 Liverpool Sunderland
1993 Arsenal Sheffield Wednesday
1994 Manchester United Chelsea
1995 Everton Manchester United
1996 Manchester United Liverpool
1997 Chelsea Middlesbrough
1998 Arsenal Newcastle United
1999 Manchester United Newcastle United
2000 Chelsea Aston Villa
2001 Liverpool Arsenal
2002 Arsenal Chelsea
2003 Arsenal Southampton
2004 Manchester United Millwall
2005 Arsenal Manchester United
2006 Liverpool West Ham United
2007 Chelsea Manchester United
2008 Portsmouth Cardiff City
2009 Chelsea Everton
2010 Chelsea Portsmouth
2011 Manchester City Stoke City
2012 Chelsea Liverpool
2013 Wigan Athletic Manchester City
2014 Arsenal Hull City
2015 Arsenal Aston Villa
2016 Manchester United Crystal Palace
2017 Arsenal Chelsea
2018 Chelsea Manchester United
2019 Manchester City Watford
2020 Arsenal Chelsea
2021 Leicester City Chelsea
2022 Liverpool Chelsea
2023 Manchester City Manchester United


The Football Association Challenge Cup, now widely regarded as the oldest and greatest cup competition in the world and commonly known as the FA Cup, was first suggested by the FA secretary, Charles W Alcock, at a meeting on Thursday 20 July 1871 in the offices of The Sportsman newspaper in London.

The first competition in season 1871-72 had fifteen entries. Wanderers - a team formed by ex-public school and university players - won the first final 1-0 against Royal Engineers at Kennington Oval, watched by a crowd of 2,000 who each paid one shilling (5p).

The FA Cup now attracts over 725 clubs each year aiming to taste cup glory while, with TV rights sold to over one hundred countries, the final is now regularly witnessed by a global audience of half a billion.

FA Cup milestones

The longest-ever FA Cup tie lasted 11 hours, coming in the fourth qualifying round when Alvechurch needed five replays to defeat Oxford City in November 1971.

The last tie that went to a second replay was in the fifth round in February 1991 between Liverpool and Everton. The first replay ended in a famous 4-4 draw.

Season 1991-92 saw the introduction of ties being settled by a penalty shoot-out after a first replay had ended level after extra-time.

The FA Cup’s first-ever penalty shoot was held at Rotherham United’s Millmoor home on the 26 November 1991 when the Millers eliminated Scunthorpe United by a 7-6 margin.

1993 saw the last FA Cup final that went to a replay - Arsenal v Sheffield Wednesday.

Arsenal were also involved in the last replayed semi-final when Manchester United’s Ryan Giggs scored a memorable winning goal in 1999.

Since 1923, the final has been staged at Wembley Stadium except for the period from 2001 to 2006 when Cardiff’s Millennium Stadium became the temporary home during the Wembley re-construction.