Copa America, 2019

This is the 46th edition of the Copa América.
The host country had historically been decided in alphabetical order of the CONMEBOL nations. However, Brazil had decided against hosting the tournament in 2015 due staging the FIFA Confederations Cup in 2013, FIFA World Cup in 2014 and Olympics in 2016.
Chile took the opportunity to stage the Copa América in 2015 with Brazil delaying their option until 2019.
The five cities that will stage games are Salvador, Rio de Janeiro, São Paulo, Belo Horizonte and Porto Alegre.
In May 2018, CONMEBOL decided the tournament should follow the structure of all other competitions since 1993, with the exception of 2016, and feature 12 nations.
In addition to the ten CONMEBOL members, invitations were accepted by Qatar and Japan.
Qatar will become the first Arabic nation to play in the Copa América. They will be using the competition to give their players the experience of playing competitive games against South American opposition ahead of the 2022 World Cup, which will be staged in their country.
Japan have played in one previous Copa América. They appeared at the 1999 tournament in Paraguay but failed to progress beyond the group stage.
This will be the first Copa América since 1991 not feature a nation from the CONCACAF confederation. Mexico had competed in all ten editions since 1993.
The winner of the tournament will qualify for the 2021 FIFA Confederations Cup. Following tradition, this would have been staged in Qatar. However, concerns over summer temperatures mean it is likely to be played in another country within the Asian Football Confederation.
Chile will be aiming to become the first nation to win a third consecutive Copa América since Argentina in 1947.