Portsmouth v Wolverhampton Wanderers, 29 April 1939

Score4-1 to Portsmouth
RefereeT Thompson
CompetitionFA Cup Final
VenueWembley Stadium
Kick Off: 15:00 GMT

4 Portsmouth

Manager: Jack Tinn

1 Wolverhampton Wanderers

Manager: Major Frank Buckley


Bert Barlow 29 G
Johnny Anderson 43 G
Cliff Parker 46 G
Cliff Parker 71 G


Dickie Dorsett 54 G

Starting lineup:

Goalkeeper Harry Walker
Full back Lew Morgan
Full back Bill Rochford
Full Back Tommy Rowe
Wing half Jimmy Guthrie (captain)
Wing half Guy Wharton
Outside Left Cliff Parker
Outside right Fred Worrall
Centre forward Johnny Anderson
Inside forward Bert Barlow
Inside forward Jimmy McAlinden

Starting lineup:

Goalkeeper Alex Scott
Full back Bill Morris
Full Back Frank Taylor
Centre half Stan Cullis (captain)
Outside right Stanley 'Dizzie' Burton
Outside right Ted Maguire
Centre forward Dennis Westcott
Inside forward Alex McIntosh
Inside Forward/Wing half Tom Galley
Left Back/Wing Half/Forward Dickie Dorsett


As a result of the suspension of the FA Cup for the duration of the Second World War, the next FA Cup final was not until seven years later in 1946, thereby enabling Portsmouth fans to claim that their team has held the Cup for the longest time.