UEFA Super Cup


Year Host nation(s) Winner Runner-up
1972 Scotland and Netherlands Ajax Rangers
1973 Italy and Netherlands Ajax AC Milan
1975 Soviet Union and Germany Dynamo Kyiv Bayern Munchen
1976 Germany and Belgium Anderlecht Bayern Munchen
1977 Germany and England Liverpool Hamburger SV
1978 Belgium and England Anderlecht Liverpool
1979 England and Spain Nottingham Forest Barcelona
1980 England and Spain Valencia Nottingham Forest
1982 Spain and England Aston Villa Barcelona
1983 Germany and Scotland Aberdeen Hamburger SV
1984 Italy Juventus Liverpool
1986 Monaco Steaua Bucuresti Dynamo Kyiv
1987 Netherlands and Portugal FC Porto Ajax
1988 Belgium and Netherlands KV Mechelen PSV Eindhoven
1989 Spain and Italy AC Milan Barcelona
1990 Italy AC Milan Sampdoria
1991 England Manchester United Crvena Zvezda
1992 Germany and Spain Barcelona Werder Bremen
1993 Italy Parma AC Milan
1994 England and Italy AC Milan Arsenal
1995 Spain and Netherlands Ajax Real Zaragoza
1996 France and Italy Juventus Paris St Germain
1997 Spain and Germany Barcelona Borussia Dortmund
1998 Monaco Chelsea Real Madrid
1999 Monaco Lazio Manchester United
2000 Monaco Galatasaray Real Madrid
2001 Monaco Liverpool Bayern Munchen
2002 Monaco Real Madrid Feyenoord
2003 Monaco AC Milan FC Porto
2004 Monaco Valencia FC Porto
2005 Monaco Liverpool CSKA Moscow
2006 Monaco Sevilla Barcelona
2007 Monaco AC Milan Sevilla
2008 Monaco Zenit St Petersburg Manchester United
2009 Monaco Barcelona Shakhtar Donetsk
2010 Monaco Atletico Madrid Internazionale
2011 Monaco Barcelona FC Porto
2012 Monaco Atletico Madrid Chelsea
2013 Czech Republic Bayern Munchen Chelsea
2014 Wales Real Madrid Sevilla
2015 Georgia Barcelona Sevilla
2016 Norway Real Madrid Sevilla
2017 Macedonia FYR Real Madrid Manchester United
2018 Estonia Atletico Madrid Real Madrid
2019 Turkey Liverpool Chelsea
2020 Hungary Bayern Munchen Sevilla
2021 Northern Ireland Chelsea Villarreal
2022 Finland Real Madrid Eintracht Frankfurt
2023 Greece Manchester City Sevilla


The UEFA Super Cup is staged annually and is contested by the previous season's winners of UEFA's two leading competitions.

Originally known as the European Super Cup, it was the brainchild of Anton Witkamp who was the sports editor of the Dutch newspaper De Telegraaf.

With the Johan Cruyff inspired Ajax team at the height of their powers, Witkamp felt that there should be an enhanced process to crown Europe's best current team.

In 1971, he came up with the idea of the winners of the European Cup and European Cup Winners' Cup facing each other over a two-legged contest on a home and away basis.
The Dutch journalist explained: "It was conceived in the era of total football. Our era - four consecutive European Cups between Feyenoord and Ajax. More than money and glory, they were pursuing the right to be called the best.

"But who was the strongest team in Europe, which team ought to have been the strongest? The team that won the European Cup? In principle, yes. Yet football is often a hymn to relativity and, for this reason, can be an imprecise art."

With the financial backing of De Telegraaf, the new competition took place for the first time in 1972 when Ajax defeated Rangers 6-3 on aggregate.

However, UEFA refused to endorse this inaugural running as they had banned Rangers from European competitions due to the behaviour of their supporters during the 1972 Cup Winners' Cup Final against Dynamo Moscow.

Nonetheless, having noted the success and interest in the first staging, UEFA duly gave the competition their blessing by recognising and supporting the 1973 edition when Ajax retained their champion status with a 6-1 aggregate win against AC Milan.

The winners of the UEFA Champions League replaced the winners of the European Cup when UEFA's senior competition was reformed in 1992-93.

With the European Cup Winners' Cup staged for the last time in 1999, the opposition gap was filled by winners of the UEFA Cup which was then re-named the UEFA Europa League in 2009.

The two-legged format was retained until 1997 except in 1984 (Juventus v Liverpool), 1986 (Steaua București v Dynamo Kiev) and 1991 (Manchester United v Crvena Zvezda) when single games were played due to either scheduling problems or political issues.
The Super Cup was not played in the following three years:

- 1974 due to Bayern München and 1. FC Magdeburg being unable to agree a suitable date for their games.
- 1981 due to Liverpool being unable to find dates to play Dinamo Tbilisi due to their fixture congestion.
- 1985 due to the ban on English clubs' participation in UEFA competitions, Everton were not allowed to face Juventus.

The single-leg game was introduced in 1998 and staged at the neutral venue of Monaco's Stade Louis II until 2013 when it has since been staged at a different stadium each year across the continent.

The UEFA Super Cup trophy is retained by the governing body with a full sized replica awarded to the winning club.