FIFA World Cup


Year Host nation(s) Winner Runner-up
1930 Uruguay Uruguay Argentina
1934 Italy Italy Czechoslovakia
1938 France Italy Hungary
1950 Brazil Uruguay Brazil
1954 Switzerland Germany Hungary
1958 Sweden Brazil Sweden
1962 Chile Brazil Czechoslovakia
1966 England England Germany
1970 Mexico Brazil Italy
1974 Germany Germany Netherlands
1978 Argentina Argentina Netherlands
1982 Spain Italy Germany
1986 Mexico Argentina Germany
1990 Italy Germany Argentina
1994 United States Brazil Italy
1998 France France Brazil
2002 Korea Republic and Japan Brazil Germany
2006 Germany Italy France
2010 South Africa Spain Netherlands
2014 Brazil Germany Argentina
2018 Russia


The most important international tournament. This four-yearly tournament was first played in 1930. Uruguay won this first edition, obtaining the Coupe Jules Rimet (the former name of the trophy)