Year Winner Runner-up
1997 Zambia Namibia
1998 Zambia Zimbabwe
1999 Angola Namibia
2000 Zimbabwe Lesotho
2001 Angola Zimbabwe
2002 South Africa Malawi
2003 Zimbabwe Malawi
2004 Angola Zambia
2005 Zimbabwe Zambia
2006 Zambia Angola
2007 South Africa Zambia
2008 South Africa Mozambique
2009 Zimbabwe Zambia
2013 Zambia Zimbabwe
2015 Namibia Mozambique
2016 South Africa Botswana
2017 Zimbabwe Zambia
2018 Zimbabwe Zambia
2019 Zambia Botswana
2021 South Africa Senegal
2022 Zambia Namibia
2023 Zambia Lesotho


The COSAFA Cup is a regional football tournament held for teams from the Council of Southern Africa Football Associations (COSAFA), which comprises countries from the southern part of the African continent.

The COSAFA Cup was first held in 1997 and has been held annually, with the exception of a few years.
The tournament typically involves national teams from the COSAFA region, including countries such as South Africa, Zimbabwe, Zambia, Angola, and Mozambique, among others.
The format of the tournament has varied over the years, but it generally consists of a group stage followed by knockout rounds.
South Africa has been the most successful team in the history of the COSAFA Cup, winning the tournament multiple times.
Zambia and Zimbabwe have also been successful, regularly reaching the latter stages of the competition and claiming titles.
The COSAFA Cup has been a platform for emerging talents from the region, providing opportunities for players to showcase their skills and gain international experience.
Notable players who have participated in the COSAFA Cup include Benni McCarthy (South Africa), Kalusha Bwalya (Zambia), and Peter Ndlovu (Zimbabwe), among others.
The tournament has witnessed exciting matches and memorable performances, contributing to the growth and development of football in the COSAFA region.
In recent years, the COSAFA Cup has expanded to include additional categories, such as the COSAFA Women's Championship and the COSAFA Under-20 Championship, further promoting football development in the region.