CONMEBOL UEFA Cup of Champions


Year Host nation(s) Winner Runner-up
1985 (Artemio Franchi Cup) France France Uruguay
1993 (Artemio Franchi Cup) Argentina Argentina Denmark
2022 (Finalissima) England Argentina Italy


Originally officially known as European/South American Nations Cup, the CONMEBOL-UEFA Cup of Champions is an inter-continental super cup game between the current holders of the Copa América and UEFA European Championship.
It was seen as the comparable national team version of the club level Intercontinental Cup challenge match between the winners of the Copa Libertadores and European Cup/UEFA Champions League.
The first two editions, staged in 1985 and 1993, were referred to as the Artemio Franchi Cup in memory of the late former UEFA president.
After a gap of 29 years, the competition was revived in 2022.
UEFA revealed that it would be re-titled the CONMEBOL-UEFA Cup of Champions and marketed as the Finalissima.