Spain national football team (La Furia Roja)

Founded: 1913
Address: Real Federacion Espanola de Futbol
Ramon y Cajal s/n
Apartado postale 385
Las Rozas 28230

Despite long being seen as the game's great underachievers, Spain are now the dominant force of the world game. Recently, they have won the European Championships in 2008 and 2012 as well as the World Cup in 2010.

Between November 2006 and June 2009 Spain enjoyed a record-equalling 35 match unbeaten run which included a 15 game winning streak.

Xavi Hernandez and Andreas Iniesta symbolise the football which has taken Spain to three consecutive major titles. David Villa's goals have been equally crucial as he has become Spain's leading all time goalscorer.

Before this flurry of success, Spain had been without a major championship for years. When Spain hosted the World Cup in 1982 the team performed in a disappointing fashion and were eliminated early.

More recently Spain has become well known for using a tika-taka style. The style focuses on ball retention. Spanish success has popularised possession based football and changed widespread opinion on the importance of physical strength in football.

Spain 'A' international all-time totals

Games won: 436
Games drawn: 162
Games lost: 141
Goals for: 1482
Goals against: 655
Average goals for: 2.00
Average goals against: 0.89

Venue: Santiago Bernabeu, Madrid